What’s my purpose?

Lately, I have lost motivation to blog or write at all. Frankly, I have lost motivation to do anything productive. I procrastinate. And I hate it.

Every night, I go to bed early because I think that I have “nothing better to do” and it’s disappointing. Where did all this laziness come from? The stress and rigor of high school? Well, I don’t feel stressed. Not enough time? I have all the time in the world. What’s the point? That’s it; lack of purpose.

What’s the purpose of doing homework? What’s the purpose of learning things in school that I will probably never use again? What’s the purpose of working out and staying fit? What’s my purpose?

This is something I have been struggling with for a while and I bet I’m not the only one. I believe that we’re all here for a purpose; it’s just figuring out what that purpose is. Since I haven’t been able to see the point or purpose of doing anything lately, I decided that needed to change. Where did I first turn to? The Bible.

I don’t openly blog about or share my religion and my faith with others frequently because I feel like people could care less. Only a select few will notice if I tweet a Bible verse. Only a select few will notice this blog post and the purpose of it.

It’s taken me a lot of time to be able to comfortably discuss my beliefs and faith with others because I fear that I will be judged and mistaken. Then, I came across Galatians 1:10, which says, “For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Why am I so intent on pleasing others when I have God, my rock, who has made me perfectly and loves me unconditionally?

As I was running on the treadmill at the gym today, I thought to myself, “why am I doing this?” The answer came to my mind immediately; for Christ. I am doing everything for Christ. I am doing everything according to His purpose. If we don’t have something to believe in, what are we living for? God made me fearfully and wonderfully, so the only thing I have to fear is fear itself. God made me purposefully, so that I could be an inspiration to those around me.

How could I have ever thought that I was made without purpose? God’s ways are perfect. Before, I was looking for a purpose that would make me “popular” or “envied.” Sure, being well-liked and well-known would make me happy for a short amount of time, but Jesus is the only one who can ultimately fulfill me. And He will never leave me. I can’t think of a better purpose than His.

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” Proverbs 19:21

We’re all on different parts of our faith journey right now. If you feel lost and without guidance, I urge you to reach out to someone who can help you along and lead you towards Christ. You have purpose.

Leave a comment