SUPER BOWL LI

Super Bowl LI. There are three words to sum it up: boring, exhilarating, and historic. Right out of the gates, the Atlanta Falcons were outplaying the Patriots and seemed to be unaffected by the pressure of the Super Bowl. At halftime, the Falcons were winning 21-3. The commentators said that the biggest deficit a team was able to come back from in Super Bowl history was 10 points. 10 points. At halftime, the Patriots were already down 18 points and the odds were certainly not in their favor. It was every football fans’ dream, unless you are me or anyone from New England. I actually turned my phone off for the entire second and third quarters because all of my Ohio “friends” were attacking me for the way the Patriots were playing. I never lost faith, but I definitely had my doubts. Dave Portnoy’s (President of Barstool Sports) halftime speech did pump me up though as he said if there is any team to have a major comeback like this in the Super Bowl, it is the New England Patriots. Boy, he had no idea what was coming.

When the third quarter ended, everyone thought the game was over. Atlanta was up 28-9. How could a team possibly score 19 points to tie the game with only one quarter left to play? I squeezed my eyes shut at the start of the fourth quarter because I could not bare to see another Falcons stop or another Falcons touchdown. My mom said to me, “Meghan, we need the Miracle speech.” So, I stood up in my basement next to the television and cleared my throat. If you do not know Herb Brooks’ famous speech from the 1980 Olympics at Lake Placid, it starts something like this, “Great moments are born from great opportunity…” Let me just say, the Miracle speech works every time. I truly believed at that moment in time that we could win this game. We are all Patriots and I had faith in the team that had come so far this season. Tom Brady was suspended for the first four games this year due to Deflategate allegations and had a target on his back the entire season. He proved that despite all of Roger Goodell’s attempts at knocking him down, he could still defy the odds and improve his game. This Super Bowl meant so much.

In the first few minutes of the fourth quarter, I ran upstairs to the kitchen to turn my phone back on and communicate with my friends in Foxboro. While I was upstairs, the Patriots scored a touchdown. Of course, that meant I had to stay upstairs for the rest of the game for superstitious reasons. I sat on the large chair in my living room, digging my fingernails into the arm rests and praying for a miracle. Right before my eyes, I watched it happen. I watched history being made– Julian Edelman’s amazing catch, the touchdown followed by an indirect snap and successful two-point conversion, and another touchdown followed by another successful two-point conversion. Suddenly, the game was tied and we were headed into overtime. I thought I peed my pants (kidding). I was yelling, screaming, jumping up and down, and just thanking God for this chance. When the Pats won the toss, I knew this was it. I watched as my heroes drove down the field and Sweet Feet White (James White) ran the ball into the end zone. The game was over. It was a miracle.

My emotions were uncontrollable. The Patriots had the BIGGEST comeback in Super Bowl history and Tom Brady earned his fifth ring!!! Unbelievable. Words cannot describe the pride and joy I felt watching my team win this Lombardi. I ran into the basement, tears streaming down my face, and hugged my mom, who was also crying. My younger brother was in shock. My older brother Facetimed us immediately and sobbed, “How did we just win that game?” I just keep thinking that in 20 years from now, I will look back on this Super Bowl and remember where I was, how it felt, and the great memories that came with it.

Of course, the people that texted me cruel things about the Patriots quickly recanted their statements. No one can argue that Tom Brady is not the greatest quarterback of all time anymore. Here is proof– five. The only thing that would make this win sweeter would be celebrating in my hometown of Foxboro, Massachusetts, but I guess this basement in Ohio with the people that matter most will do. I am so thankful for the season the Patriots had and I will continue to support them as long as I live. This game offered a glimpse of hope and a break from the struggles and routines of everyday life. It reminded me to just have a little faith. After all, I do believe in miracles.

Leave a Reply

