Do What You Love

After reading Mr. Conner’s blog post last week, I thought about college a lot. I’m one of those kids who really pushes myself to try in school and get good grades to the point where my parents don’t have to remind me. Last semester, I got my first B+ in a class and I swear I thought the world was ending. I kept thinking that I would never get into college and that I would never make enough money to support myself or my family. And yes, I’m one of those people who constantly overthinks things and tries to have everything figured out way too far in advance.

But, I wanted to bring another perspective to the table. I honestly don’t know what I want to do with my life, never mind where I want to go to college. I have many careers that I am somewhat interested in like being a surgeon, lawyer, musician, journalist, or even an FBI agent. But, I haven’t been able to decide what career field I want to pursue. I am only a sophomore in high school, but over spring break, my mom is making me visit the University of Arizona. I told her that I’m not ready to look at colleges yet and that I don’t know what I want to do with my life. She told me that I need to start figuring it out.

I recently came across an article contributed by the Muse on Forbes that said something that really spoke to me. It said, “Like many people, I’d put more thought and effort into getting the job than into figuring out if it was something I actually wanted. There’s plenty of research and advice out there on how to write the perfect resume and ace that interview. But when it comes to figuring out what you want to do with your life, the strategies aren’t so clear.” I find this quote to be accurate because people always tell you that you need to get a job and find a career, yet there aren’t any ways to find out what career you would happiest in (besides maybe pursuing that career).

The truth is 80% of people are dissatisfied with their work. In one of Scott Dinsmore’s TEDx Talks he said, “So many people around us are climbing their way up this ladder that someone tells them to climb and ends up being leaned up against the wrong wall or no wall at all.” Dinsmore met with individuals who were dissatisfied with their jobs and simply asked, “Why are you doing the work that you’re doing?” Within two months, 80% of the individuals quit their jobs to find something they enjoy to do. In 2012, more people had quit their jobs than been laid off, which is pretty astonishing.

Dinsmore’s definition of success is to utilize your: unique strengths, values, and experiences. Next, do the impossible. Everything that was once said to be impossible has been made possible or is yet to be made possible. Dinsmore said, “The things that we have in our heads that we think are impossible are often just milestones waiting to be accomplished.” At the end of the talk, Dinsmore’s final question to the audience was, “What is the work you can’t not do?” I think this is a question that you should spend some time thinking about. Push your limits. This is how we change the world.

I’m scared that in 10-15 years from now, I’m going to find myself in a job that I hate and realize that I’m not doing what I love. If I can, I want to avoid this scenario and start finding a passion of mine to pursue right now. After all, there’s really nothing that can’t be done.

I hope that soon everyone will make a change to do what they love, so maybe, 80% of people can be satisfied with the work they do.

Leave a Reply

