SUPER BOWL XLIX

Wow. As a girl growing up with two brothers and a dad who are insane Patriots fans, last night was a crazy night in my household. I was born in Foxboro, Massachusetts and watching my hometown team win Super Bowl 49 was amazing.

If you didn’t get a chance to watch the last two minutes of the game, let me tell you: you really missed out. The Patriots scored a touchdown putting them up 28-24 against the Seattle Seahawks. There was enough time in the game for the Seahawks to score a touchdown, but lucky for us, they slipped up. Seahawks coach, Pete Carroll, made the wrong call that really cost the Seahawks the game. Malcolm Butler became the Super Bowl hero for New England by intercepting the ball in the final seconds of the game, preventing the Seahawks from scoring. If you can imagine winning the lottery, that’s what it felt like for me and my family.

My mom and my dad were watching from the TV upstairs while my little brother and I watched from the basement TV. My older brother watched from his apartment in Waltham, MA and continued to text us throughout the entire game. The Patriots clearly played better when my family was in there assigned locations and positions. Are superstitions really superstitions if they actually work?

When Butler intercepted the ball, my house shook. Literally. Screams echoed and everyone was hugging and jumping and smiling wide. The game came to an end and we were Super Bowl champs once again. It felt so good seeing my favorite team and favorite people take home the Vince Lombardi Trophy.

The Pats endured so much ridicule and hate this year, but they pulled it off. Tom Brady was accused of being ” too old” and people thought he should think about retiring. He proved them wrong. Then, the entire deflate-gate accusations started popping after the Patriots vs. Colts game. There is still no proof or evidence that the Patriots purposefully deflated those footballs and it wouldn’t have changed the outcome of the game anyway. When people say that “cheaters won the Super Bowl”, they’re wrong. The Patriots would’ve beaten the Colts if the balls weren’t deflated and we still don’t know who deflated the balls. The Patriots beat the Seahawks fair and square.

Lastly, I’d like to say congratulations to the 2015 Super Bowl champs and in my opinion, the best team in the NFL. You guys got the job done and New England thanks you. WAY TO GO PATS!

Leave a Reply

